May-June Favourites

Welcome to my first non-book review post!

In May-June Favourites Part One I want to talk about some of my favourite books that have been released during the month.
My TBR list grew dramatically this month, there have been so many exciting releases, so in Part Two I’m also going to show you which books released this month I’m really looking forward to reading…
I’m going to cheat a bit this month and do a May-June favourites, seeing as I have only just started my blog, so a few titles released in May have crept onto the list. Enjoy!

                                    hearts

Talk to Me by Jules Wake
 Release date: 6th June 2014
 Publisher: Choc-Lit
 Buy: Paperback Kindle

Olivia and Daniel certainly aren’t talking the language of love …
Olivia has been in love with Daniel forever but, despite her best efforts, they’ve never been able to get it together. Their relationship has always been a series of mixed messages and misunderstandings and the final straw comes when Daniel mysteriously starts dating her flat-mate, Emily. Hurt and confused, Olivia resolves to forget her heartache with a spot of speed-dating. After all, what could possibly go wrong?
One crazy stalker later and Olivia’s life is becoming increasingly strange and scary. Can she rely on Daniel to step in when events take a terrifying turn or will their communication breakdown ultimately result in tragedy?

I couldn’t believe that this was Jules Wake’s debut novel. It was a fantastic story full of romance, intrigue and humour. The perfect fast-paced summer read and brilliantly written with strong characters this is a must for all chick-lit fans.

 

 The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson
 Release Date: 10th June 2014
 Publisher: Penguin
 Buy: Paperback Kindle

The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson, author of A Passionate Love Affair with a Total Stranger, is a wonderfully witty and gorgeously romantic story of facing your fears and falling in love.
Sally is an incredible singer but she sings only in her wardrobe where nobody can hear her. She’d rather join a nudist colony than sing in public.
That is until she ventures to New York where a wild and heady summer of love and loss changes her forever. No longer able to hide in the shadows, Sally must return home to London to fulfill a promise she cannot break – to share her voice.But just as she’s about to embark on her new life, a beautiful man turns up on Sally’s doorstep bearing a sheepish smile and a mysterious hand-written message.
How did he find her? Why is he here? Does he hold the truth to what happened back in New York? And, with him back on the scene, will she still have the courage to step into the spotlight?

I was unbelievably excited about The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me. I’d heard so many good things about it & I got stuck in straight away (which is rare, if I buy a new book it usually goes straight to the bottom of my TBR and I get round to read it about 3 months later…) I am so glad that I did. This story had everything. It was funny, sad, emotional, shocking, gripping and very importantly, original. (There are not enough adjectives to do this novel justice…) Lucy Robinson has secured her place in my very exclusive list of ‘favourite authors’ after The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me. I will be writing a review for this novel, but I think I may have to re-read it to produce a review good enough to even begin to describe this amazing book (any excuse!)

 

The VineyardThe Vineyard by Karen Aldous
Release Date: 19th May 2014
Publisher: Carina UK
Buy: Kindle

It’s been five years, and Lizzie Lambert has decided it’s time to try to make things right with her estranged mother. She’s made a success of things in Cannes, she’s bringing up a lovely little boy on her own, and she’s ready to put the past behind her.
But it seems Lizzie’s mother has moved on as well. She’s moved her toyboy – a muscle-bound vintner named Cal – into the family home, and given him the run of the land that was meant to be Lizzie’s inheritance!
Cal’s wine business frequently takes him to France, and suddenly wherever Lizzie goes, he’s already there – meddling, giving unsolicited advice, saving her little boy’s life and stealing her heart. But none of this changes the fact that he’s her mother’s lover…

Another fantastic debut, The Vineyard is the PERFECT Summer read. You’ve got a beautiful setting, loveable characters and a sweet, sensitive yet funny storyline. Not forgetting the gorgeous cover, this is a heart warming and romantic tale. Watch out for Karen Aldous…
*Find my full review over on Girls Love To Read & over on Chicks That Read.

 

Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon
Release Date: 22nd May 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Buy: Paperback Kindle

Last year, Bronte left Sydney for a wedding in England, where she met newly single Alex. After a night of passion they parted ways, and Bronte returned to Australia. Now working on a picture desk for a magazine in London, Bronte is about to meet her new colleague, who turns out to be all too familiar. Although awkward at first, as Alex is now engaged to the girl he was on a break from when they met, they soon become friends. But as the two get closer, and the wedding day looms, it is clear that Alex and Bronte have unfinished business…

Another one from May, but in my defence I actually read it in June… Paige Toon is one of those authors whose books I would buy without even reading the synopsis because I love her novels so much. I’m pleased to say that the trend very much continues with Thirteen Weddings… I loved the characters, I loved the plot and I loved the relationships within the story. I was completely hooked and would categorise this book as ‘one-of-those-books-you-don’t-want-to-end’ or OOTBYDWTE… do you think that will catch on…?….No? Anyway, a great read!

 

 

Love Me for MeLove Me for Me by Jenny Hale
Release Date: 21st May 2014
Publisher: Bookouture
Buy: Kindle

Sometimes you find perfect where you least expect it…
Libby Potter has just lost the perfect job, the perfect apartment and the perfect boyfriend. Moving back to the home town that she couldn’t wait to escape when she was younger was definitely not on her to-do list. Especially as it means running into the man whose heart she broke when she left.
Pete Bennett can still make Libby’s world stop with just the sound of his voice – even ten years on. Only now, she is the last person in the world that he wants to see.
As everyone else welcomes Libby home with open arms, she realizes she’s missed that special closeness that comes from lifelong friendship. And, as Libby seeks to make amends with Pete, she begins to wonder whether she made the right choice in leaving all those years ago.
When an amazing career opportunity gives her the chance to leave again, Libby will have to decide what her version of perfect is… and where she really belongs.

Love Me for Me is a heart-warming, witty tale that will make you ask ‘What If…?’ I loved the sound of White Stone and I really want to visit after reading this novel…it sounds idylic. I found myself getting carried away in the story and thought Love Me for Me was such a warm, sweet, romantic story.
*Find my full review over on Girls Love to Read

 

hearts

 

One thought on “May-June Favourites

  1. Thanks Holly, I’m in really great company here. I like the sound of all of these and will be adding to my holiday reading pile immediately.

    Like

Leave a Reply

