My Most Anticipated July Releases…

Another month, another stack of irresistible books are being released. Where to start? July is rivalling June for brilliant releases, so I’ve selected just a few of my favourites that I’m really looking forward to reading this month…

 

 

The Story of You by Katy Regan
Release Date: 3rd July 2014
Publisher: Harper
Buy:  Kindle (Paperback released September 2014)

 

There is no story of me without the story of you.
I want to explain it all to you. How this happened. How that summer – the summer I was 16 – made me the person I am today.
I want to share my memories with you: the happy memories are like sunbursts, sparkling on the sea. But then, like a current dragging me under, there’s that summer of 1997.
The summer my life exploded.The summer I had to grow up.The summer you came into my life.
And so this is the story of you.

After reading the first eight chapters of The Story of You on my Kindle I have been counting down the days until 3rd July! I NEED to read more of this fantastic story. I feel as though I’ve not read any of Katy Regan’s novels in a while and I absolutely love her books, so it’s about time to get some Katy Regan-ness back in my life and what better place to start than by reading The Story of You?

 

The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice
Release Date: 3rd July 2014
Publisher: Transworld
Buy: Paperback   Kindle

Everyone remembers their first love.
Holly certainly remembers Alex. But she decided ten years ago that love wasn’t about mix tapes and seizing the moment – though she’s not exactly sure it’s about secret dates with your boss, either.
But what if the feelings never really went away?
Alex wants to make every moment of his new job count. It’s a fresh start in a big city, and he’s almost certain that moving to London has nothing to do with Holly. Almost.
How do you know if it was meant to be. or never meant to happen at all?

If you haven’t already read the e-book edition of The Best Thing that never Happened to Me then why not!? It’s Brilliant! It’s a beautiful, funny, gorgeous story and one of the characters is called Holly – win/win!
There’s something about the cover of this book that I just LOVE, hence my wanting the paperback version to prettily adorn my shelves… So if you haven’t read this truly fantastic story yet then the release of the paperback is the perfect excuse!

 

What a Girl Wants by Lindsey Kelk
Release Date: 17th July 2014
Publisher: Harper
Buy: Paperback Kindle

Being arrested in your own bedroom is never a good start to the day. Tess Brookes really needs to sort out her back-stabbing flatmate – and her life.
Should she gamble all on the new photography job she’s landed, or snap up the offer from long-time crush and best friend Charlie to start up on their own – in more ways than one? There’s just one small thing she hasn’t mentioned. Or rather, one tall thing. He’s handsome, infuriating and called Nick…
For the first time, Tess has to choose between the life she always dreamed of and a future she never imagined possible. From London to Milan, with high fashion and low behaviour thrown in, she’s going to have to make up her mind what a girl really wants…

Lindsey, Lindsey, Lindsey…I have been waiting very patiently for What a Girl Wants after absolutely LOVING About a Girl, and now, one year later, that time has arrived!
Lindsey Kelk is in Sophie Kinsella territory as far as I’m concerned (translation: she’s amazing). I love everything about her books and I am desperate to get my mitts on About a Girl.

 

Landline by Rainbow Rowell
Release Date: 3rd July 2014
Publisher: Orion
Buy: Hardback Kindle

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and he still loves her – but that almost seems besides the point now.
Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells him that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her – he is always a little upset with her – but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.
That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts…
Is that what she’s supposed to do?
Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

I love Rainbow Rowell. Attachments is one of my all time favourite love stories and as for Eleanor & Park…don’t even get me started. So my excitement has reached epic proportions over Landline. Not only that but I have a ticket to AN EVENING WITH RAINBOW ROWELL in July. *Deep Breath* I cannot wait.
Story-wise (let’s concentrate) Landline does sound like an amazing novel and quite different to Rainbow’s other books – and look at that cover! ARGH!

Of course this is a mere four out of about thirty-odd fantastic books that are going to be released in July. You’ll no doubt find me jabbering on about some of the others very, very soon…

Thanks for reading – Race you to the shops!

 

Leave a Reply

