Book Review: A Place For Us (Part One) by Harriet Evans

APFUA Place for Us (Part One) By Harriet Evans
Publisher: Headline Review
Release Date: 31st July 2014
Buy: Kindle
Rating:
5 star

wts

The day Martha Winter decided to tear apart her family began like any other day. So opens A Place for Us by Sunday Times bestselling author Harriet Evans, a book you’ll dive into, featuring a family you’ll fall in love with … and never want to leave. If you devour Rosamund Pilcher and Maeve Binchy and have discovered Jojo Moyes, you’ll be thrilled to add Harriet Evans to your collection of favourite authors. The house has soft, purple wisteria twining around the door. You step inside. The hall is cool after the hot summer’s day. The welcome is kind, and always warm. Yet something makes you suspect life here can’t be as perfect as it seems. After all, the brightest smile can hide the darkest secret. But wouldn’t you pay any price to have a glorious place like this? Welcome to Winterfold. Martha Winter’s family is finally coming home.

mt

Part One of A Place for Us introduces us to head of the Winter family, Martha and David. They reside in the legendary Winterfold House in Somerset and during the course of their lives they have raised three children Bill, Daisy and Florence and have two grandchildren, Cat and Lucy. As Martha’s eightieth Birthday approaches and her artist husband, David, is slowly disintegrating before her eyes with a bad heart, she decides that the time is right to unveil a dark family secret. She sends out invitations calling her family back to Winterfold, not revealing anything more than ‘There will be an important announcement.’
Bill is the only child who still lives near Winterfold, never quite being able to bear leaving the village he lives with his second wife, Karen, and works as a Doctor.
However it would appear that life has not been as simple for Daisy and Florence, who have both fled to India and Florence respectively and have little to no contact with their parents or the memories that Winterfold holds.
Then there’s Cat, the biological daughter of the rebellious Daisy, she was brought up by Martha and David but moved to Paris to pursue her career. Things didn’t quite go to plan for her either but she can see no way out of the situation that she’s found herself in.
Meanwhile Bill’s daughter Lucy has nabbed what appears to be her dream job, working as a writer for the Daily News, and when the opportunity to write an article on her well-loved Grandfather, David arises, she can’t resist and starts asking questions about the family. However it soon becomes clear that the Winter family is full of secrets and perfect appearances can be deceptive…

This is the first novel I’ve read which has been part of a serialisation and I wasn’t sure how I would find it. As someone with a bad memory and a tendency to be impatient (I’m really selling myself here, aren’t I!?)I wasn’t sure if I would ‘click’ with reading a novel in parts, but I adore Harriet Evans’ books so I found the temptation to read part one of A Place For Us too overwhelming, especially as the full novel isn’t out until January 2015.

After reading this novel I’m very pleased to say…I LOVE serialisations!

Part one of A Place for Us was amazing and I am completely hooked on the Winter family and their story. We get a chapter or two from each character’s viewpoint…and whoa, what a family! There is so much going on beneath the surface and these characters have the potential to be amazing. I was gripped by everyone’s story and I desperately want to know more about Daisy and just what it is that Martha plans to reveal at her party.

There’s something about Harriet Evans’ writing that I just love. Her stories always grab you from the start and seem to have so much depth and I am certain that the full length A Place for Us is going to be no different. This story is going to be explosive, emotional and completely addictive.

I can’t wait to get to know the Winter family a little better. This is looking to be Harriet’s best novel yet and I am beyond excited for more!

*A HUGE thank you to Lizzie at Headline Review who kindly sent me this book to review.

ata

Image of Harriet EvansI have written seven novels (WHAT? how did that happen. That’s completely bonkers.) Yes, seven. Anyway while I get over that, what else do you need to know? I live in London, near the canal. I like: the Golden Girls, karaoke, the clothes shop Anthropologie, books books and more books, and my daughter Cora and my boyfriend Chris. Not in that order. I used to work in publishing and look at authors and think well, I can do that! SoI thought I’d fulfill my life-long ambition and try writing a book because how hard can it be? Now I know the answer which is: er, kind of pretty hard. But it’s the best job in the world (apart from acting in musicals which one day I also hope to do *stop kidding yourself & get back to work*) and I know that too.
 ♥  Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads Website 

Leave a Reply

