Book Chatter: Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella

BOOKCHATTER

 

The 25th September sees the release of one of my most anticipated books of the whole year and that is Shopaholic to the Stars by one of my favourite authors in the whole world, Sophie Kinsella. Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) is a fictional hero of mine and I can’t wait for her return. I fell in love with both Becky and Sophie Kinsella’s writing when I was at school and one of my friends was reading Shopaholic Ties the Knot during silent reading time in English. I loved the sound of the story and promptly borrowed (read: stole) the book from her until I could hit Waterstones and get a copy for myself.

From the minute I started reading my love affair with chick-lit began and I have not looked back since, and here I am nine years later loving books, chick-lit and Sophie Kinsella more than ever.

So just what is so amazing about Sophie’s books? I will try and keep this brief, otherwise I will go on and on and on. So much so that you may end up gagging me with a Louis Vuitton scarf.
First up, it’s Becky. She is my ultimate favourite character ever and I don’t think I have ever read of a character who I can relate to so well. She loves shopping and has a tendancy to daydream, but she is also funny, caring, the best friend in the world and has a heart of gold.
Whilst the Shopaholic books may be pure escapism (they are the perfect remedy to take your mind off things and will transport you to a nice place full of shiny shoes and handbags…) they also have flipping fantastic storylines. You HAVE to find out what happens in the stories. Will Becky get herself out of her latest tricky situation? Will Luke find out? Will Becky get the latest must-have handbag? Sophie writes in such a way that you are hooked on the story right from that opening page. She also is fantastic at creating characters who you will genuinely like and care about and the observations she makes in her books are funny and all too true. In case you didn’t guess already I LOVE SOPHIE KINSELLA.

It has been four years since the last Shopaholic book and I can hardly contain my excitement at re-joining Becky, Luke and Minnie for more fun, mishaps and of course, SHOPPING!

 

Shopaholic to the Stars is published on 25th September, by Bantam Press, Transworld. Click here to pre-order.

Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is in Hollywood! It’s as if all her life has been leading to this moment. She’s hanging out with the stars . or at least she will be, when she finally gets to meet movie superstar Sage Seymour, whom husband Luke is now managing.

There’s so much to see and do! And getting Minnie through the hurdles for her A-list Hollywood pre-school will require some.er.help.

Becky sets her heart on a new career – she’s going to be a celebrity stylist. Red carpet, here she comes! But Becky soon finds it’s tough in Tinseltown. Luckily her best friend Suze comes over to keep her company, and together they embark on the Hollywood insider trail. But somehow…things aren’t quite working out as they’d hoped.

Then Becky’s big chance comes, and it’s an opportunity that money can’t buy. But will it cost her too much?

One thought on “Book Chatter: Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

