Book Review: A Place For Us (Part Two) by Harriet Evans

A Place For Us Part 2

A Place for Us (Part Two) by Harriet Evans
Release Date: 28th August 2014
Publisher: Headline Review
Buy: Kindle
Rating:
5 star

wts

The SECOND of four exclusive part-serialisations of a A Place for Us by Harriet Evans will reunite you with the Winter family …
The day Martha Winter decided to tear apart her family began like any other day. The house has soft, purple wisteria twining around the door. You step inside. The hall is cool after the hot summer’s day. The welcome is kind, and always warm. Yet something makes you suspect life here can’t be as perfect as it seems. After all, the brightest smile can hide the darkest secret. But wouldn’t you pay any price to have a glorious place like this? Welcome to Winterfold. Martha Winter’s family is finally coming home.

mt

I have been waiting for Part 2 of A Place for Us from the SECOND I finished Part 1, desperate to know what was going to happen next in the story. I had SO many questions and with Part 2 came a lot of answers…

Martha’s 80th Birthday Party takes place in this part of the novel, as does the family lunch at which Martha has invited all of her family in order to make an important announcement. The secret is revealed and it was not what I was expecting at all! Harriet Evans did a brilliant job of surprising me with Martha’s secret, but of course, this isn’t the only secret that the Winter family are keeping. In Part 1 it’s clear that all is not well with Bill and his marriage to Karen and in Part 2 we get to find out exactly why. I was kind of suspecting this but there’s much more to the situation than I first imagined.

Daisy’s daughter, Cat, has returned to Winterfold from France and she has an unexpected visitor with her. However, their arrival isn’t as wonderful as Cat perhaps thought it would be.
There’s no sign of Daisy yet but Florence has made it home. We don’t hear too much about Florence in Part 2 but it is revealed that she’s not willing to be walked all over anymore with regards to her job and she sets about getting her revenge.
Then, just as the shocking announcement is made, something else happens which is about to turn everything into disarray and no doubt end up revealing even more of the Winter’s secrets. As with Part 1, Part 2 ends on an extreme cliff-hanger and once again I am desperate for the next part of the Winter’s story… (which is released on 25th September!)

The story is continued to be told by different characters, which is an aspect of this novel that I love. Some chapters are told from the past, others the present day, and everything is weaved together so cleverly that you find yourself about to realise what is going to happen literally just as it does happen, which makes for magical reading. You’re neither kept in the dark or told too much; it’s just the right amount of clues to make the story flow as well as it does.

I was concerned that I would forget what was happening with these characters as I’ve read a fair few novels in-between reading Parts 1 and 2, but as soon as I started it all came flooding back and I felt completely involved and engrossed in this story once again.

When all four parts of this novel come together it is going to be utterly amazing and I’m so looking forward to reading them all in one go. In the mean time I’m counting down the days until Part 3…

I would like to say a big, sloppy thank you to Headline Review for approving me to read this title on NetGalley…  

This is one of my chosen #NetGalleyMonth reads. Organised by Tay from ChicksThatRead.com I am working extra hard this month to get some of my NetGalley titles read and reviewed, to increase my feedback ratio.

NetGalley Badge

ata

Image of Harriet EvansI have written seven novels (WHAT? how did that happen. That’s completely bonkers.) Yes, seven. Anyway while I get over that, what else do you need to know? I live in London, near the canal. I like: the Golden Girls, karaoke, the clothes shop Anthropologie, books books and more books, and my daughter Cora and my boyfriend Chris. Not in that order. I used to work in publishing and look at authors and think well, I can do that! SoI thought I’d fulfill my life-long ambition and try writing a book because how hard can it be? Now I know the answer which is: er, kind of pretty hard. But it’s the best job in the world (apart from acting in musicals which one day I also hope to do *stop kidding yourself & get back to work*) and I know that too.

Twitter  | Facebook  | Goodreads  | Website

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Place For Us (Part Two) by Harriet Evans

Leave a Reply

