Guest Post: Jennifer Joyce

guestpost1

 

Today I am hugely excited to share with you a guest post from the fantastic Jennifer Joyce as part of the book tour for Everything Changes But You (get hold of your copy here. It only takes a minute!!) You can have a read of my five-shoe review here.

Over to Jennifer…
Everything Changes But You:

Take That & Karaoke

Music is pretty important in Everything Changes But You. Not only is the title inspired by a Take That song, there are also regular meet ups at Ally’s local pub for karaoke nights. I wanted Ally and her friends to have a place that was significant to them, a place where they could meet up to have fun but that was still local and not too out of the ordinary. Karaoke at the local pub seemed like the perfect option, and it also gives us the opportunity to meet Keith Barry, karaoke host extraordinaire.

Music is important to me when I’m writing. I like to have background noise but it can’t be TV as I find that distracting whereas music is just there, merrily playing away while I type. Music can also help to set the mood – emotional songs of lost love for breakups or happy, vibrant songs for when all is going well for a character. While writing Everything Changes But You, I spent a LOT of time listening to Take That (it seemed like the right thing to do after I’d nicked their lyrics for my title).

Choosing the songs that my characters would sing was a lot of fun and gave me the opportunity to listen to yet more music. I searched for popular karaoke songs but mostly I chose the songs I liked and thought would suit my characters. The karaoke scenes were probably my favourite scenes to write as it was basically creating a girl’s night out without having to suffer the hangover the next morning. Plus, getting to know Keith Barry was a pleasure. I’m not sure I’d want to encounter him in real life, but his antics were amusing as they appeared on my screen. But maybe I’m just a bit weird!

 

Jennifer Joyce is a writer of romantic comedies who lives in Manchester with her husband and their two daughters. Everything Changes But You is her second novel and is available as an ebook now.

You can find out more about Jennifer and her books at

Blog: www.jenniferjoycewrites.co.uk

Facebook: www.facebook.com/jenniferjoycewrites

Twitter: www.twitter.com/writer_jenn

Everything_Changes_But_You_Blog_Tour

Leave a Reply

