Festive Feature: Lindsay J. Pryor

bcc

ff

Welcome to a very special Festive Feature on my blog, where every day up until Christmas some of my favourite authors will be sharing what they love most about the festive season, including their favourite films, food, music, presents, memories, books…Plus much more!

Today paranormal romance writer Lindsay J. Pryor stops by to tell us what she loves most about Christmas…

 snow

The Magic of Snow – Lindsay J. Pryor

As a child, Christmas was all about laughter, fun and carefree family time. I also have strong memories of that magical feeling in the air that intensified the closer Christmas came – a time when Father Christmas was real, reindeers really did fly over the house, and snow had every chance of falling.

I’ve always loved snow – especially Christmas snow. My favourite book was The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, so Christmas never failed to remind me of being transported into that fantastical world. Here in the UK, we had snow more frequently around Christmas back then. Dad would drag me and my sister and my mum out into it no matter what, to have snowball fights or make fools of ourselves falling off the sledge, never caring how wet or cold we got, but just making the most of the snow whilst we had it.

A few years ago, we had heavy snowfall on Christmas Day for the first time in years. The three Christmases before had been really tough because we’d lost my Dad to cancer. In many ways, with it, Christmas had lost its magic too. It became about the gap at the Christmas table, the person missing from present-opening time, the empty feeling whilst playing board games. It had become about trying to get through the season rather than enjoying it.

Then, that one Christmas, my husband and I got snowed in on a farm where we were staying. Not only were we were trapped from getting to family or friends, the water pipes froze so we were left with no running water, no heating, and we couldn’t even cook our Christmas lunch. I remember standing at the window, looking out at the snow-covered hills, watching the snow falling again, before I saw that look on my husband’s face. Yes, he dragged me out, just as my Dad used to, and we made a sledge.

A few hours later, we were sodden, shivering and, as I discovered the following morning, black and blue. We’d also had more fun and laughter than we’d allowed ourselves at Christmas for a long time. For that time, amidst the snowfall, the magic had returned. It was also one of the first times I laughed in memory of my Dad instead of crying. Apart from being there to join in, I think that was the best gift he could have sent. Now I love snow even more.

snow

A very big tinsel infused thank you to Lindsay for this lovely snowy piece.


Blood Shadows (Blackthorn, #1)Lindsay J. Pryor is a British Paranormal Romance author who writes dark, intense, multi-layered stories set in the dystopian world of Blackthorn.
Combining sizzling passion and dark, sinfully seductive vampire heroes, Lindsay J. Pryor’s writing is an exciting new find for those who love adult paranormal romance and urban fantasy.
If you’re a fan of J.R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Kelley Armstrong, Christine Feehan, Kresley Cole or Felicity Heaton then you’ll love Lindsay J. Pryor’s books too.
Lindsay has been at number 1 in both the U.S. and U.K Gothic romance charts on Amazon, as well as being number 1 in the vampire romance chart and the number 1 ‘Most Wished For’ paranormal romance on Amazon UK. She has also skirted the top 100 in Amazon’s overall kindle charts in both the US and the UK.

Lindsay J. Pryor  |  Website  | FacebookTwitter  |

10 thoughts on “Festive Feature: Lindsay J. Pryor

  1. I enjoyed reading this, Lindsay and Holly.

    I have to confess that I hate the snow. One of the great things about living in Southern California, where I used to live, was that there was no snow. Bliss!

    However, I would be happy to watch you sledging, Lindsay, but from inside a hot room, by a blazing fire, with a glass of red wine in front if me, a novel on my knee and a box of chocolates at my side!

    Like

  2. What a lovely piece – one I can totally sympathise with. We lost Dad five years ago and yes, Christmas has never been the same. I hope you get snow this year to bring a smile to your Christmas again 🙂

    Like

  3. A beautiful post. Here’s wishing more snow your way, but a warm cosy house for after the snow fun. Have a wonderful Christmas xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

