Book Review: A Place For Us (Part Four)

A Place for Us Part 4

A Place for Us (Part Four) by Harriet Evans
Release Date: 23rd October 2014
Publisher: Headline Review
Buy: Kindle
Rating:
5 star

wts

The day Martha Winter decided to tear apart her family began like any other day.
So opens A Place for Us by Sunday Times bestselling author Harriet Evans, a book you’ll dive into, featuring a family you’ll fall in love with … and never want to leave. If you devour Rosamund Pilcher and Maeve Binchy and have discovered Jojo Moyes, you’ll be thrilled to add Harriet Evans to your collection of favourite authors.

The house has soft, purple wisteria twining around the door. You step inside.
The hall is cool after the hot summer’s day. The welcome is kind, and always warm.
Yet something makes you suspect life here can’t be as perfect as it seems.
After all, the brightest smile can hide the darkest secret.
But wouldn’t you pay any price to have a glorious place like this?

Welcome to Winterfold.

Martha Winter’s family is finally coming home.

mt

A Place for Us Part 4 is the fourth and final instalment of Harriet Evans’ amazing new novel, A Place for Us (which is released in full on 15th January 2015. Click here to pre-order the novel in full.)
I have loved the previous three parts of A Place for Us and so naturally I couldn’t wait to dig into the final part. There are so many loose ends that need tying up. What’s going to happen with Florence’s court case? What’s going to happen between Karen and Joe? What’s going on with Martha? Will Cat stay in France?
Just in case you’re yet to discover this superb story, I’ll try and bring you up to speed. The story centres on the Winter family, consisting of Martha and David and their children Bill, Daisy and Florence. We also get to meet Martha and David’s grandchildren, Cat and Lucy. The story really begins when Martha Winter sends out invitations to all of her family to celebrate her up-and-coming Birthday. However, it seems that Martha has an ulterior motive for gathering all of her family together and has one or two very dark secrets that she is keen to reveal to them all. As things come to a head there are shocks, dramas, and heartbreak aplenty as the story of the Winter family is gradually revealed, both in the present day and by exploring memories from the past. The story is told from all of the character’s viewpoints throughout and it makes for one epic, un-put-down-able tale…

As excited as I was about getting my mitts on part four of A Place for Us, I was also a bit apprehensive. The endings of novels are so important to me and can make or break the story as a whole. I desperately hoped that all my questions would be answered and things would reach a satisfactory ending at Winterfold…and I’m so pleased to say that I needn’t have worried because the ending was absolutely perfect.
I’ve mentioned before that I don’t usually go for serialisations, mainly because I am sure I’ll forget the characters and what’s happened previously, but this was not an issue at all with this novel. I think it was because I bonded with all of the characters so well, I genuinely cared for them and I had no trouble remembering who was who or what was going on. In fact, I think the Winter family will be with me for a long time…They are such a distinct set of characters and I warmed to them all. Part Four is once again told through a number of characters perspectives, but Cat seemed to feature the most, which I found to be great because Cat has really stood out for me throughout the story.
I love how Harriet brings everything together to form the ending and the way in which each character’s situations are resolved subtly. As you reach the ending of the story you also begin to realise exactly why Martha felt the need to reveal to her family what she did, and everything clicks into place and makes perfect sense.
Part four of A Place for Us made for a satisfying conclusion to what has been a compelling, engaging, beautifully written and truly fascinating novel.
As a massive fan of Harriet Evans, I must admit that this is my favourite novel of hers so far. I can’t wait to read all four parts together and appreciate the story as a whole, because it really is something special. I predict that this will be one of the big releases of January 2015 and I am already looking forward to dipping into life at Winterfold once again…

A big thank you to Headline Review for approving me to read and review this title on NetGalley.

 

ata

Harriet EvansI have written eight novels (WHAT? how did that happen. That’s completely bonkers.) Yes, eight. Anyway while I get over that, what else do you need to know? I live in London, near the canal. I like: the Golden Girls, karaoke, the clothes shop Anthropologie, books books and more books, and my daughter Cora and my boyfriend Chris. Not in that order. I used to work in publishing and look at authors and think well, I can do that! So I thought I’d fulfill my life-long ambition and try writing a book because how hard can it be? Now I know the answer which is: er, kind of pretty hard. But it’s the best job in the world (apart from acting in musicals which one day I also hope to do *stop kidding yourself & get back to work*) and I know that too.

Harriet Evans | Website | Twitter | Facebook |

Leave a Reply

