Festive Feature: Christine Stovell

bcc

ff

Welcome to a very special Festive Feature on my blog, where every day up until Christmas some of my favourite authors will be sharing what they love most about the festive season, including their favourite films, food, music, presents, memories, books…Plus much more!

I’m delighted to welcome another of my favourite authors from 2014 to my blog today, the lovely Christine Stovell…

snow

My Three Favourite Christmas Traditions by Chris Stovell

When my younger daughter married in April this year, the best man – her new brother-in-law – thanked ‘all eight of our parents for being here’ which rather demonstrates why Christmas can be a bit of challenge in our large, blended family where hearts are tugged in all directions. I’m pleased to see whoever turns up, but I’m equally happy for people to be where they need to be. Although we might not be a traditional family, there are three Christmas traditions I hold dear.

The first is that Christmas begins when I start playing Christmas music! ‘For Unto Us a Child is Born’, from Handel’s Messiah and ‘Gloria in Excelsis’ from Vivaldi’s Gloria are synonymous with Christmas morning. Then I like to wheel out the cheesy old crooners like Dean Martin singing, ‘Let it Snow, Let it Snow’!

Secondly, I love the moment when I can put up my favourite Christmas decoration. My parents rarely took holidays when my sister and I were growing up; there simply wasn’t enough money to go round. In later life, however, there was no stopping them and my dad took great pleasure in the growing number of pins in his travel map of every place they’d visited. I love this nativity scene, which they brought back from Peru for me, not just for itself and because it’s so jolly, but because it reminds me of Mum and Dad’s beaming faces (under Peruvian hats!) when we picked them up from the airport.Peru Nativity 002r

And finally, we live in such a beautiful part of the world here on the west Wales coast, that Christmas wouldn’t be complete without a bracing walk. We have a fabulous beach right on our doorstep… to be fair, it’s an easy walk downhill but a bit of hike back, but, hey, what better way to prepare for all the Christmas eating and drinking!

Local beach

Thank you for having me here, Holly, and for your support throughout the year. Wishing you and your readers a very Merry Christmas!

snow

An enormous thank you to Christine for this fabulous piece (I’m not at all jealous of that beach…)


Follow a StarHello, I’m novelist and writer, Christine Stovell. I’m proud to be published by Choc Lit, publisher of award winning fiction. I’ve also contributed work to Honno Welsh Women’s Press. I live and write in Wales and am a member of Literature Wales.

Christine Stovell  | Website | Facebook | Twitter |

 

 

7 thoughts on “Festive Feature: Christine Stovell

  1. Lovely. It’s so nice to have special ornaments to remind you of people. My gran knitted a red pom pom hat and a scarf for a felt snowman I made when I was 11. He still comes out and hangs on the tree now. Makes me feel like my Gran is still with us 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your Christmas with us – it’s fascinating to read about the things that are special to different people. Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

