Book Chatter: A Place For Us by Harriet Evans

BOOKCHATTER

A Place For UsIn case you’ve been living on Mars lately then I’m sure you’re aware of the fabulous latest release from Harriet Evans, A Place for Us. (Published on the 15th January by Headline Review) 
I love Harriet Evans; she’s fast become one of my all time favourite authors and up until now her previous book, Not Without You was probably my favourite novel of hers. However, when I started to read A Place for Us I was overwhelmed with love for this beautiful, exciting, shocking novel.
I read the book in four parts as it was released in installments before being published as the finished book and I absolutely adored it. I loved everything about it, the characters, the setting, the storyline, Harriet’s writing – it was all simply superb.

Needless to say I am so looking forward to going out and getting the finished copy at the weekend because I can’t wait to read the novel as a whole. I really, really enjoyed reading it in installments, more than I thought I would in fact – but I had trouble dealing with those cliffhangers at the end of each part. Whereas now I can gobble up the whole story in one go if I feel inclined to do so. (Plan for the weekend- sorted!)

If you’re a long time Harriet Evans fan or are yet to discover her books then I can’t recommend enough that you give this novel a go. You will be swept up, carried away by the story and unable to put it down until secrets are revealed.

You can read my reviews for each part of the novel on the following links.

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four

I cannot wait to re-visit life at Winterfold… Click to join me and get your copy in paperback or eBook.


The day Martha Winter decided to tear apart her family began like any other day.

When Martha, a wife and mother of three, sits down one late summer’s morning to write out the invitations to her eightieth birthday celebration, she knows that what she is planning to reveal at the party could ruin the idyllic life she and her husband David have spent over fifty years building…

But she has to let her family know what she and David have sacrificed. She can’t live a lie any more.

The invitation goes out far and wide, calling her three children and their families back home to Winterfold, their rambling house in the heart of the English countryside. They are Bill, the doctor; Florence, the eccentric academic; and Daisy, the child who never fit in. As the story unfolds, each character reveals the secrets, joys, and tragedies they are wrestling with through the confines of the family. What will happen when Martha finally tells the truth?


5 thoughts on “Book Chatter: A Place For Us by Harriet Evans

  1. I’ve never read a Harriet Evans book, so I’m thinking A Place For Us will be perfect as my first one! I love the concept for the novel and since you only have great things to say about it, I can’t wait until I have a chance to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

