Author Interview: Nicky Schmidt

AI

I was extremely excited to have been given the opportunity to interview author of The Anti-model Agency (which was released on 10th Febuary 2015 – click here to get hold of your copy), Nicky Schmidt. Nicky is a new author to me, but I am thrilled to have now discovered her books. Here she tells us a little more about the The Anti-model Agency, what inspired her to write the story and news of a sequel… (HURRAY!!)

 

Nicky SchmidtHello Nicky, welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! Thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself…?

Thanks a million for having me, Holly. I live in London with my ultra-tolerant family, harbour inappropriate thoughts of Damien Lewis and, contrary to the Surgeon General’s warnings, overindulge in sugar on a regular basis.

Can you tell us a bit about your latest novel, The Anti-model Agency (released 10th February 2015 by Prospera Publishing)?

Sure. It’s a wry look at the more dysfunctional aspects of professional modelling through the eyes of a working-class girl called Denise (Dizzy Kane).

I love the synopsis for The Anti-model Agency, it’s a novel I’m so excited about reading! What inspired you to come up with the idea for the storyline?

Thanks, hope you enjoy it (*nervous laugh*). I was fascinated by an industry that promotes a body image and type that only a tiny proportion of women actually own. Top designers make these clothes for giant sticks, who eat tissues to stay thin, and we look up to them as being the ideal. I harnessed the essence of this craziness for my novel.

How did you go about doing your research about the modelling industry?

Ah ha. I have to be slightly careful here, in case some of my sources are identified, but let’s just say I have friends and acquaintances in the business, who were happy to talk. Additionally I did the usual writer’s trawl through news articles, documentaries and so on.

Is Dizzy Kane a completely fictional character or is she based on anyone in real life?

Completely fictional, although the ultra-delightful mother Suzette is based on my own dear mum. (Only joking. Kind of.)

The Anti-model Agency is your third novel. Can you tell us a little bit more about your first two, Naked in Knightsbridge and Marrying out of Money?

Naked in Knightsbridge was written in the recession and told the sorry tale of a lazy uni graduate with a love of Hobnobs who becomes homeless after losing her business and auctions herself on an Ebay-type site for marriage.

Marrying Out of Money is the reverse, in that a wealthy girl from ‘new’ money attempts to get out of an arranged marriage to an aristocratic guy by behaving in as slovenly a manner as possible.

What’s the best thing about being a writer?

For me, pushing the boundaries of outrageous comedy. I love shows such as Miranda, Ab Fab and Fawlty Towers and find the freedom to be a little radical in the name of humour quite liberating. Reading some of my reviews, not everyone gets my brand of funny, though.

Can you tell us a bit about your journey to publication?

I work in the industry (boring stuff to do with numbers), and came up with the idea for Naked and pitched it to a friend.

Who are your favourite authors and what kind of books do you enjoy reading?

I’m into pretty much anything and everything, except (oddly enough for someone who doesn’t shy away from rude) erotic fiction. Historical fiction is brilliant, and like the rest of the Western world, I am a huge fan of Scandi crime fiction.

And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re working on at the moment?

The follow-up to The Anti-model Agency – ‘The Anti-model Returns’.

A huge thank you to Nicky for participating in this ineterview and to Prospera Publishing.  

Click here to get your copy of The Anti-model Agency.

Nicky Schmidt   | Blog  | Goodreads  | Facebook  | Twitter  |

Leave a Reply

