Book Review: Click by Lisa Becker

Click

Click: An Online Love Story by Lisa Becker
Release Date: 29th March 2011
Publisher: Amazon Media
Buy: Kindle
Rating:
45

wts

Fast approaching her 30th birthday and finding herself not married, not dating, and without even a prospect or a house full of cats, Renee Greene, the heroine of Click: An Online Love Story, reluctantly joins her best guy pal on a journey to find love online in Los Angeles. The story unfolds through a series of emails between Renee and her best friends (anal-compulsive Mark, the overly-judgmental Ashley and the over-sexed Shelley) as well as the gentlemen suitors she meets online. From the guy who starts every story with “My buddies and I were out drinking one night,” to the egotistical “B” celebrity looking for someone to stroke his ego, Renee endures her share of hilarious and heinous cyber dates. Fraught with BCC’s, FWD’s and inadvertent Reply to All’s, readers will root for Renee to “click” with the right man.

mt

Click is written entirely in e-mail conversations between Renee and her friends Shelley, Ashley and Mark. Renee gets talked in to joining an online dating site after Mark suggests it and the pair decide to embark upon the online dating world together.
Click follows Renee’s journey of e-mails from potential partners whilst following her relationship with her two best friends Shelley and Ashley.
Renee soon discovers that the online dating world is a potential minefield but after approaching her 30th Birthday and remaining very much single, Renee decides to stick with it and maybe she might even meet the man of her dreams…?

I love the fact that Click is written completely through e-mail conversations. If you’re half as nosey as I am then I can guarantee that this book will appeal to you. I was so engrossed in this story that I found myself forgetting that it was actually a story and it felt more as though I was spying on real people’s e-mails.
I will admit that I didn’t expect to become as involved with the characters as much as I did either. With the book being written in e-mails I did wonder how I would be able to connect and get to know the characters as much as I would have if this had been written as a conventional novel, but that wasn’t a problem at all as these characters and their personalities really shine through. Lisa pulls their characterisaton off a treat and you’ll have no trouble envisaging them and how they interact with one another. I thought that the relationship between the four friends was brilliant, Renee is a really likeable down-to-earth character and I’m sure that her friendship with Shelley and Ashley will resonate with a lot of readers as the two have very different personalities and Renee always seems to be stuck somewhere in the middle. Shelley is an outrageous character in herself and provides some hilarious moments, whilst Ashley (nicknamed Miss Priss by Shelley) couldn’t be more different. Then there’s Mark who comes across as slightly OCD and a total perfectionist but we don’t really get to hear much from him, so maybe it would have been good to find out a bit more about the male in the group of friends and hear his story.

The other thing that I loved about Click was the twist at the end. I guessed there would be something but I couldn’t work out what it would be and I really enjoy reading books that make you go ‘WHHAAT…’ with an exciting twist and Click was no different. You would perhaps think that there couldn’t be a ‘twist’ in this format in a novel told via e-mail but there certainly is.
As much as I enjoyed reading about the relationships between the three girls I did sometimes find it odd that Renee forwarded every e-mail she received from the dating agency and the responses that she got to Shelley. I understand that she wanted her friends opinion but felt it was slightly a case of over sharing, I just wondered if the men she was e-mailing wondered who the girl who was always CC’d in on their e-mails was. However, certain characters clicking on ‘Reply All’ was the cause of a few very funny situations throughout the story…
Click was so enjoyable and easy to read. It’s a book you’ll find yourself skimming through and even catching yourself thinking that you’re reading real e-mails sent between real friends rather than a story. It’s an addictive read and has definitely made me want to read more of Lisa Becker’s books; I’m really looking forward to reading the sequel already!

ata

Lisa BeckerLisa Becker had endured her share of hilarious and heinous cyber dates, many of which inspired Click: An Online Love Story. She is now happily married to a wonderful man she met online and lives in Manhattan Beach with him and their two daughters. So, if it happened for her, there’s hope for you!

Lisa Becker  |  Website  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |

Leave a Reply

