Book of the Month: March 2015

bom

 

Choosing my Book of the Month is never an easy task, but it seems to be proving especially difficult this month. Usually as I’m reading throughout the month I have a faint idea of which book is going to be my favourite, but all the books I’ve read this month have been so good that it’s really tough to distinguish just one. However, I think I’ve managed it (phew!)

It was at the start of the month that I read this book and I’m still in awe of how good it was. My Book of the Month for March is The Wronged by Kimberley Chambers. This book left me speechless many a time (Yes, that’s a rarity…) and it’s also just that bit different from the kind of novels that I can usually be found reading. However this corker of a book was ALWAYS in my hands. I couldn’t stop reading it and it completely consumed me. I couldn’t get enough of it and I can’t wait to read more from Kimberley Chambers.

 
The WrongedVinny Butler has used his time in prison well: to plan the downfall of all who’ve wronged him.

As always with the Butlers, family comes first: Vinny’s brother Michael may think he’s the top dog running the family business, but it won’t last when Vinny finds out how good his brother’s got it.

Meanwhile, Vinny is incensed when he finds out that Joanna had a baby in secret while he was in prison – but that’s nothing compared to his anger when he finds out who the father is.

In the background, Little Vinny thinks he’s one step ahead of his dad as always, and playing a dangerous game: he’s still keeping a secret he’ll take to his grave – even if that means that he sends more people to theirs first…

The Butlers are at war, and they’re taking everyone down with them – it’s all going to end in flames…

Click to buy in Hardback or eBook. You can read my original review here.

 

My special mention must go to The Night Falling by Katherine Webb. Once again, Katherine was a new author to me, meaning I’ve discovered two utterly incredible authors this month. What could be better!? This book was fantastic, haunting, disturbing and beautiful in equal measure. I feel as though I learnt a lot from this story about Italy during the 1920s and what I did learn truly shocked me. Katherine’s writing is amazing and will easily transport you to Puglia and the life of its inhabitants. A must-read!

 

The Night FallingThe international bestselling author of THE LEGACY returns with a searing new novel of secrets and feuds, set in 1920s Italy.
Puglia, Italy, 1921.

Leandro returns home now a rich man with a glamorous American wife, determined to make his mark. But how did he get so wealthy – and what haunts his outwardly exuberant wife?

Boyd, quiet English architect, is hired to build Leandro’s dreams. But why is he so afraid of Leandro, and what really happened between them years before, in New York?

Clare, Boyd’s diffident wife, is summoned to Puglia with her stepson. At first desperate to leave, she soon finds a compelling reason to stay.

Ettore, starving, poor and grieving for his lost fianc?e, is too proud to ask his Uncle Leandro for help. Until events conspire to force his hand.

Tensions are high as poverty leads veterans of the Great War to the brink of rebellion. And under the burning sky, a reckless love and a violent enmity will bring brutal truths to light…

Click to buy in Paperback or eBook. You can read my original review here.

Leave a Reply

