Book Review: The Day We Disappeared by Lucy Robinson

The Day We Disappeared

The Day We Disappeared by Lucy Robinson
Release Date: 9th April 2015 (Paperback)
Publisher: Penguin
Buy: PaperbackKindle
Rating:
5 star

wts

Annie has a secret. But if she’s not going to tell, we won’t either. It’s a heart-breaking secret she wishes she didn’t have – yet Annie isn’t broken, not quite yet. Especially now there’s someone out there who seems determined to fix her.
Kate has run away. But she’s not going to tell us why – that would defeat the point of running, wouldn’t it? It’s proving difficult to reinvent herself, however, with one person always on her mind.
Scratch beneath the surface and nobody is really who they seem. Even Annie and Kate, two old friends, aren’t entirely sure who they are any more. Perhaps you can work it out, before their pasts catch up with them for good . . .

 

mt

In The Day We Disappeared we meet friends Annie Mulholland and Kate Brady. Both girls are hiding from their past but in very different ways.
Kate has landed herself a job at a stable yard in the depths of the Somerset countryside. No one knows where she is and she hasn’t the first idea about horses, but none of that is important. All that matters is that Kate is away from the Bad Sh*t where no one can find her…
Then there’s sweet, hippyish masseur, Annie. Annie experienced something that no child ever should when she was just seven years old and she’s been hiding from her past ever since. Stressed, anxiety-ridden and terrified of anyone becoming close to her, Annie’s life suddenly looks to change when handsome business man Stephen offers her a job…and ends up providing a whole lot more.

I absolutely adore Lucy Robinson and I have done ever since I read The Greatest Love Story of All Time three years ago. I’ve loved every one of her books so far and her previous novel, The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me ranks amongst some of my all time favourite books EVER. However, there’s now a new addition to that list. The Day We Disappeared…Welcome to my list.

I’d been hearing great things about this novel, I also heard that there was a twist that would quite possibly blow my mind so I tried to read as few reviews as possible before I started (which I now fully intend to make up for!) so I wouldn’t have any suspicions or clues as to what goes on. I felt that sense of foreboding throughout the novel, not because I’d read that there were twists, but because Lucy’s writing creates that atmosphere. She gives nothing (and I mean NOTHING) away and it soon becomes clear that we’re not going to find out the back story of either Kate or Annie until the time is right. Then when things are revealed…WOAH. I went back and re-read a couple of pages just to let my head catch up with what was going on. It was exciting, unexpected and brilliantly orchestrated.
As tensely thrilling and shocking as the plot was, one of the things that I loved the most about The Day We Disappeared is how Lucy’s wit and humour bounce off the page. Her writing will make you unattractively snort with laughter (if you’re reading this in public consider yourself warned.) Her style of writing is such a joy to read, it’s relaxed, realistic and full of warmth. You will find yourself gliding through this story without even realising. In fact, it will become so real it’s as if it’s no longer a story and everything that’s happening has transferred from the page to right in front of your eyes.
Lucy has created two amazing heroines in Annie and Kate. They are thoroughly likeable, brave, funny and engaging. The other characters who really stood out for me were Becca (I LOVE this girl. Come and be my BFF, pet.) Joe (enough said) and Mark. Their dialogue is superb and I could imagine Becca’s Geordie tone and Kate’s Irish lilt with ease. They all blend together so well and are a vital part in making the story what it is. They’re a truly irresistible bunch (especially Stumpy!)

A book like this is a rare find. The way that it blends mystery, drama, romance and is so psychologically clever at the same time makes it a sure-fire winner in my eyes. The way in which the darker side of the story counteracts the humour and the ridiculously clever plot really made this book worm its way into my brain. I was thinking about it late at night, so tempted to read just a few more pages because I was certain that everything couldn’t be as it seemed. What was I missing?? Something just kept niggling at the back of my mind but I couldn’t work out what. I had so many questions. What was Kate running from? What was the Bad Sh*t? Why was Stephen so perfect? What was the real deal with Tim? Why was Mark so moody yet gorgeous-sounding!?

Everything I love about a good story is in this book…and then some. It completely surpassed all of my expectations and I can say with certainty that it will be making an appearance on my Books of 2015 page.

I really hope that I’ve not given anything away in this review because I want everyone to read this and then come and chat to me on Twitter about it, especially when things are revealed. You know where to find me when you do…

 

A huge thank you to Penguin for very kindly sending me a review copy of The Day We Disappeared. 

 

ata

Lucy RobinsonLucy Robinson is the author of The Greatest Love Story of All Time, A Passionate Love Affair with a Total Stranger and The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me. Lucy worked in theatre and then television documentaries before starting a blog for Marie Claire about her laughably unsuccessful foray into the world of online dating. She did not meet a man during this time but she did become a novelist: every cloud has a silver lining. She now lives in Bristol with her partner, The Man, whom she met when she took off to Buenos Aires to become a bohemian writer in 2010.

Lucy Robinson♥  | Website | TwitterFacebook | InstagramGoodreads |

 

Leave a Reply

