Author Interview: Caroline Mitchell

AI

 

I am delighted to welcome Bookouture author Caroline Mitchell to Bookaholic Confessions. Caroline’s novel, Don’t Turn Around is released today and it sounds completely amazing! I cannot wait to get reading this one (get hold of your copy here) Now it’s over to Caroline as we chat self-publishing, interviewing serial killers and the fabulous high-heel wearing DC Jennifer Knight…

 

IMG_6479Hello Caroline, welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! Thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself…?

Hi Holly, it’s great to be here! I’m originally from Ireland, and now live on the coast in Essex with my husband, four children and two dogs.

Can you tell us a bit about your novel, Don’t Turn Around (released 24th April 2015 by Bookouture)?

Don’t Turn Around is what I describe as a haunting crime thriller, infused with my personal experience of the police and the paranormal. It’s a highly original story, with lots of twists and turns, and a shock ending you will not expect!

 

Don’t Turn Around is the first in the Jennifer Knight Crime Thriller Series. (Of which I am MASSIVELY excited about reading!) Can you introduce us to Detective Jennifer Knight? What should we know before we join her investigations?

DC Jennifer Knight is a high heel wearing snappy dresser, she thrives on office banter and is fiercely protective of her family. A police detective coming to terms with her own troubled childhood, her need for control brings out her OCD tendencies as she learns to deal with the very real ghosts of her past.

What can readers expect from the series of books as a whole?

Each book can be read as a standalone, but many of the same characters follow the series. Without wanting to spoil the story, readers can expect to see the lead characters and their relationships evolve, whilst dealing with some very unexpected incidents in a historic town where nothing is as it seems.

 

Don't-Turn-Around---Caroline-Mitchell---for-cover-revealWhat’s the best thing about writing crime thrillers?

I get to infuse my own experience in the police and show my readers the thrilling side of crime investigation. One minute I’m bringing my readers into an interview with a serial killer, and the next they are with the crime scene investigators searching for clues.

 

How long did Don’t Turn Around take you to write?

About nine months, and although challenging at times, I enjoyed every second.

 

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always loved books but never had any inclinations to write one until my husband nagged me to tell the true story of our encounters with the paranormal. After I published Paranormal Intruder I got the itch to write again, and so the DC Jennifer Knight series was born.

 

Can you tell us a bit about your journey to publication?

Because Paranormal Intruder was such a success, I decided to self publish again. It was more out of curiosity that I submitted my manuscript to a handful of publishers, and I didn’t expect to hear anything back. Then one evening I found Bookouture online. I really liked their ethos and decided to submit to them too. Not long after, I received several requests for full manuscripts. I contacted Bookouture to make them aware other parties were interested and they signed me up not long afterwards.

 

Who are your favourite authors and what kind of books do you enjoy reading?

I adore Stephen King, he is the master of suspense. There are lots of great crime authors out there too, and it goes without saying that my fellow Bookouture authors have some amazing novels I’m dying to read.

 

And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re working on at the moment?

I’m just finishing up book two in the DC Jennifer Knight series, which is even creepier than the first. All I can say is, the ravens are coming …

 

A huge thank you to Caroline for participating in this interview and also to the lovely Kim at Bookouture. 


 

Soon he would be able to touch her, to feel the warmth of her blood. And when the time came, nothing would stop him.
As D.C. Jennifer Knight investigates a routine stabbing in the quiet town of Haven, she is shocked at what seems like a personal message from beyond the grave.

When more bodies are found, Jennifer is convinced the killings are somehow linked. What she discovers is more chilling than she could possibly imagine. The murders mirror those of the notorious Grim Reaper – from over twenty years ago. A killer her mother helped convict.

Jennifer can no longer ignore the personal connection. Is there a copycat killer at work? Was the wrong man convicted? Or is there something more sinister at play …

With her mother’s terrifying legacy spiralling out of control, Jennifer must look into her own dark past in a fight not only to stop a killer – but to save herself and those she loves.

Click to buy on Amazon (UK) or Amazon (US)


 

Caroline Mitchell  |  Twitter |  Facebook |  Goodreads| 

Leave a Reply

