Author Interview: Genevieve Gannon

AI

 

I am delighted to welcome the very lovely Genevieve Gannon to my blog today. Genevieve’s new novel, Chasing Chris Campbell, was released on the 1st June and it is one I am hugely looking forward to reading. It was an absolute pleasure to chat to Genevieve as she tells us more about her latest release, chats exotic locations and the success of her first novel, Husband Hunters…

 

IMG_1044Hello Genevieve, a huge, warm welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! Thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself?

 

Thanks for your hospitality Holly. I love what you’ve done with the place! As you know I’ve recently started publishing romantic comedy novels but in my other life I’m a journalist from Melbourne, Australia. As a crime reporter, my days revolve around murder and violence, so writing romantic comedies is a wonderful form of escape.

 

 

Can you tell us a bit about your novel, Chasing Chris Campbell (released June1 2015 with HarperCollins)?

 

I’d love to! Chasing Chris Campbell is a romantic comedy with an exotic, travel twist. Most young people take-off to see the world before they settle down, and this book seeks to incorporate some of those mad, backpacking adventures from that rite of passage. Violet Mason is a naïve, hard working research scientist with a penchant for cleanliness and a slight case of hypochondria (self-diagnosed) who has never really wanted to travel. But when her long-term boyfriend does the unthinkable, and she bumps into The One That Got Away she suddenly finds herself booking a plane ticket to Hong Kong. I won’t say too more, other than the journey to Hong Kong is just the start of her adventure …

What inspired you to come up with the storyline for Chasing Chris Campbell?

 

I first thought about writing a fun travel/love story when I was backpacking around Europe in 2006. The story was put to one side for while. Years later when I was travelling around Asia I kept thinking it would be a great setting for a romantic comedy.

 

 

Why did you decide to set your novel in exotic locations such as Hong Kong, Vietnam and India? Have you visited any of those countries, or would you like to?

 

I have visited all the places featured in the book. I spent a month travelling around India about 10 years ago, and a little of Nepal too. Though, like Violet, I became wildly ill in Nepal so felt like I kind of missed it. Later, I backpacked around Vietnam by myself for a month. I’ve visited Hong Kong several times. But just because I’ve already been to these places doesn’t mean I don’t want to go back!

 

image1Chasing Chris Campbell is your second novel. Did you find it easier or more difficult to write than your first, Husband Hunters?

 

In some ways it was easier. For example Husband Hunters involves three main characters where as Chasing Chris Campbell only has one. But this book also required a lot more research and fact checking.

 

 

Husband Hunters was a huge success and has got some fantastic 5 star reviews – what did it feel like to get such a good response as a debut author?

 

The reception Husband Hunters received was exciting and touching. I was warned that as a debut, digital author it would be really tough to get attention for the book. But luckily those who picked it up really enjoyed it. I think the concept captured people’s attention too. It got a little mention in a few newspapers here. Although I must admit I’m slightly relieved that now I’m spruiking Chasing Chris Campbell I no longer have the phrase “husband hunter” all over my social media profiles.

 

How long did it take to write Chasing Chris Campbell?

 

People often ask this question and it’s a tricky one to answer. I started Chasing Chris Campbell before I’d finished Husband Hunters. And in fact, I even had some notes from when I was first dreamed up the idea in Europe that I was able to adapt. When I’m working on a manuscript I often put it down and try something else for a few weeks or months, then return to the original project. So it’s hard to really say exactly how long each one takes.

 

What do you think you’d be doing if you weren’t an author?

 

I really enjoy my day job working in Melbourne’s courts, so perhaps if I wasn’t doing the author thing I’d consider studying law. A lot of my friends are lawyers and they deal with some really interesting issues.

 

Who are your favourite authors and what kind of books do you enjoy reading?

 

One of my all-time favourite authors is Jeffrey Eugenides, who wrote The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex. I also really love Ian McEwan, Michael Chabon and David Nicholls. I recently read We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver, which was brilliant. I want to dive right into more of Shriver’s work now. The same is also true of Gillian Flynn. There are too many to name, but they’re the ones that come to mind. Oh, and Hannah Kent, a Melbourne girl, who wrote the hauntingly beautiful Burial Rites.

 

And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re working on at the moment?

 

Right now I’m in the early stages of my third book. I don’t want to say too much, because it’s still developing, but it’s set it Melbourne and it will draw a bit on my experience in the courts. But, it will still be a romantic comedy, of course.

 

A huge thank you to Genevieve for taking part in this interview.

 

Don’t forget to grab your copy of Chasing Chris Campbell

 

Genevieve Gannon  | Website  | Twitter  | Facebook  | Goodreads  |

Leave a Reply

