I Love Blogging Because…

blog

What do I love most about blogging? Well, everything really, but that wouldn’t make much of a blog post. So I decided to put together some of the things I love most about being a book blogger to celebrate my blog now being one year and six days old. I hope you enjoy reading and be sure to let me know your favourite things…

 

The Book Blogging Community. I have met some of the loveliest, kindest, funniest and friendliest people ever through blogging and I love each and every one of them. This is a community that supports one another and it’s a group of people I am proud to be a part of. Whether you need help with your blog, help tracking down a book or just want some good book recommendations there will be someone willing to help. The book blogging community are just as fabulous when it comes down to life in general. I have made some firm friends who are always there for me & make me smile. I am going to make it my mission to meet some of these lovely people in real life one day and I truly hope that we will be friends for a long, long time.

 

The Recommendations. Before I was a blogger I was an avid reader of book blogs and I still am…If not more so. I can’t get enough of reading all of the fabulous sites out there, which is great. There’s just one teensy problem. I WANT ALL THE BOOKS. If reviewers that I love have recommended a book or given it a sparkling review then booooy, is that book going on my ‘To-Be-Read’ list. Not that this is a problem (well, maybe for my social life, but nothing more…) In fact, it can only be a good thing, because you can never have enough books. That is a fact, look it up if you don’t believe me. My point is that I have read some simply amazing books, purely based on recommendations that I have received from other bloggers. It’s fair to say I probably would never have even come across these books had I not been pointed in the right direction… This also works the other way round, too. You can’t beat that feeling when someone has enjoyed a book that you recommended to them. Whenever someone asks me for recommendations I do tend to panic, because hey, everyone’s different and we all enjoy different things. But when someone does enjoy a book that they read because of your review it is such a good feeling.

 

Discovering Self Published Authors. I also feel I should bring the subject of self-published authors up here. I love reviewing books by self published authors wherever possible and blogging is a brilliant platform to discovering some of the extremely talented self-published writers out there, of which there are many. It probably does mean that my pile of books to be reviewed is slightly larger than it would be if I only reviewed books from publishing houses, but do you know what? I don’t care! Bring on the books…

 

Author Interaction. Before the days of Twitter and the like, I remember writing to my favourite authors if I had read a book of theirs that I had especially enjoyed. They would often write back, letters from Jacqueline Wilson, Cecelia Ahern, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella are amongst my favourites and I will treasure them forever. However, thanks to technology, most authors are now just a tweet away & I absolutely love how accessible they are. Just been able to TELL an author you enjoyed their book is wonderful, but when they email you, comment on your review, tweet or write to you it’s AMAZING! I have been lucky enough to get to know so many fantastic authors, some of whom I consider friends and this to me is just incredible.

 

The Opportunities. I still find it amazing that I can send questions to my favourite authors and have them ANSWER THEM FOR ME! I love researching questions for author interviews and if I’ve read any of the authors books beforehand I always have a ton of questions. I also can’t believe that authors are willing to write guest posts to go ESPECIALLY ON MY BLOG. It boggles my mind that authors are willing to spend time and  put so much effort into content for my blog. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it and they will never know just how grateful I am…

 

Knowing Book News. As a book blogger I see it as my duty to find out the latest book news and know details about up-and-coming releases. It’s practically my job and therefore just something which must be done. The sacrifices I make for blogging… (just kidding – I finding out books new. I’d obviously still be doing this even if I wasn’t blogging. Shh.)

 

The Resources. Before I started blogging I was a complete novice to the likes of NetGalley and BookBridgr. As book blogging is such a large community, I think it’s fantastic that resources such as these are available. Being able to request a book literally at the click of a mouse and have it appear on your Kindle within minutes of being approved is magical to me. In fact I’m still slightly in awe of these facilities. I mean…Just….Wow…

 

Review Copies. I know that this is a much discussed topic amongst book bloggers, so I’m going to keep this one brief and say that I am still in a state of shock when a book arrives in my inbox or through my letterbox and it is my ‘job’ to read it, talk about it and then review it. SERIOUSLY? Things just don’t get any better than that and receiving review copies is undoubtedly one of the perks of being a book blogger. Of course it’s impossible to receive every book under the sun (that’s what your wages are for, to go and buy the books!) but the fact that some of the amazing authors, publishers and pr companies are actually willing to send me these books to read still blows my mind.

4 thoughts on “I Love Blogging Because…

  1. Great post and I agree with all your reasons to enjoy book blogging, particularly the one about communicating so directly with authors. I get very excited if an author retweets or replies to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Joanne. Haha, I’m exactly the same! It’s so exciting to know that an author has actually read your review. Sometimes I even feel a little star struck! 😉 x

      Like

  2. I really need to write a post ‘Why I Love Book Bloggers’ (actually I have written a few) but like you I’ve been amazed in the last year to discover how supportive the bookish community is, and supportive to everyone; writers, other bloggers and importantly all the enthusiastic readers out there. Congratulations on your success Holly xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

