Author Interview: Holly Martin

AI

 

I am super excited to be joined by the wonderful Holly Martin on Bookaholic Confessions today. Not only does Holly have a great name (!) but she also releases her first novel with Bookouture, Fairytale Beginnings, TODAY. (Click here to grab your copy if you haven’t already.) Holly shares her love of fairytales, Disney films and working with Bookouture…

 

Holly MartinHello Holly, welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! I’m thrilled to have you on the site, thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself…?

Hi Holly, Thank you for having me on your blog. I write romantic comedy books that make people laugh and smile and feel good. I think the world is a dark enough place and when people read they want to escape, so I hopefully give them a world which will make them happy.

 

Can you tell us a bit about your new novel, Fairytale Beginnings (released 10th July 2015 by Bookouture)?

 Fairytale Beginnings is inspired partly from all the Famous Five books I loved as a child, with secret passageways and hidden treasure and partly from all the Disney films. It’s a modern day fairy tale set in a huge Cinderella type castle, with Cameron the handsome lord and Milly our brave and quirky heroine who wears sparkly converse, it’s a gorgeous love story, with lots of laughs and a few skeletons in cupboards.

Fairytale Beginnings sounds such a gorgeous story and I can’t wait to start reading! Are you a big fan of fairytales yourself?

Oh yes, definitely, I love Disney films and stories of true love conquers all. I know life isn’t like that, all singing, dancing, sparkles and happy ever afters, but that’s why I love stories like that.

 

Is your lead character, Milly Rose, completely fictional or is she based on anyone in real life?

She is mostly completely fictional but one of my best friends is a huuuuuge fan of Disney and will watch every film every single week, she has all the music CDs and absolutely loves pink and sparkles so a huge part of Milly is based on her, my friend already has her own prince charming though but how she met hers and how Milly meets Cameron is very different.

 

How long did Fairytale Beginnings take you to write?

 

Since Christmas I now write full time and Fairytale Beginnings was the first story I wrote that wasn’t written around a full time job, so it took me about six weeks to write. Then there was a lot of editing needed doing to it and that probably took another month.

 

Fairytale BeginningsThis is your first book released with publishers Bookouture. How does it feel to be working with them?

I love Bookouture, the editorial support was great, the cover is so beautiful and they also know a lot about publishing ebooks. The authors are super talented too.

 

What advice would you give to any aspiring authors out there?

Write down all your ideas, a scene, a conversation, anything. It may be rubbish, it may not amount to a story but you will never have a finished story unless you write it down. Get it all down and then you can go back and edit it and make it better later, but you can’t edit nothing. When you finally have your story and you send it off to publishers and agents, you will get rejected. It doesn’t mean there is anything wrong with your writing, it just means that for the person who read it, it didn’t hit the mark. Publishers turn down books for all sorts of reasons, I’ve heard of publishers turning down books, quite simply because they had just signed a similar story, nothing to do with the quality of writing. Your story is not for everyone, but never ever give up. It took Katie Fforde seven years to get published, Harry Potter was turned down by several publishers and if they all gave up after the first rejection then the world would never know their wonderful stories.

 

 Do you have any writing ‘confessions’ (e.g. secret habits or guilty pleasures)?

I don’t have any writing confessions, but I do have a reader guilty pleasure. I love to read really really bad trashy erotica, I have no idea why. The stories that have terribly written characters, completely implausible storylines, writing that makes you cringe with how bad it is, give me a super trashy erotica about a wolf shape shifter falling in love with a stupid simpering human girl and I’ll devour every page. Ssshhh Don’t tell anyone.

 

Who are your favourite authors and which genres of books do you like reading?

I love reading romance, romantic comedies, gorgeous romances or even sexy romance and very trashy romances, things that will make me laugh or go awwww, that’s pretty much the only genre that I like to read, but nothing that will make me weep endlessly. My favourite authors in this genre are Aven Ellis, Jill Mansell, Lisa Dickenson, Rosie Blake, Rachael Lucas, Jenny Hale, Mandy Baggot, Kat Black, Kierney Scott, Rebecca Raisin, Sophie Kinsella, Miranda Dickinson and Sarah Morgan. Thankfully the romance genre is filled with wonderful talented authors and I love discovering a new talent to add to the list.

 

 And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re up to at the moment?

I’ve just finished writing two books which are coming out at Christmas, both set in the seaside town of White Cliff Bay. The books are not sequels and can be read in any order with completely different characters but they follow the same timeline leading up to the annual Christmas Eve ball. This has been a little bit tricky because if it rains one day in the first book I have to make sure that it rains that day in the second book. I’m excited about people reading them both as they will see tiny links between the two books. I’m currently working on Adam, Book 3 of my Sentinel Series for Young Adults and that will be out this year and then I’ll be writing my summer book for 2016.

 

A huge thank you to Holly Martin and Kim at Bookouture. 

Holly MartinWebsiteTwitterGoodreads |

One thought on “Author Interview: Holly Martin

Leave a Reply

