Author Interview: Liz Fenwick

AI

 

 

Hello Liz, a big, warm welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! Thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself…?

First thanks so much for having me on the blog! I’m a novelist, wife, mother, cat wrangler and an expert in being an expat. I left the US in 1989 and seem to have been moving ever since. However in 1996 we bought our home in Cornwall so that we would have roots somewhere as we moved from Canada to Moscow to Houston to Jakarta to Dubai to London and to Dubai again…

 

I am really excited about reading your latest release, Under a Cornish Sky (Released 7th May 2015) it sounds fantastic! Can you tell us a bit more about it?

I wondered what would happen if a character had nothing and was given more than she ever imagine and if another finally had what she wanted but then had to share it…Both my heroines, Victoria and Demi, have to share an inheritance and all is not as it appears.

You’ve written a total of four fabulous books all set in Cornwall. Why did you decide to use Cornwall as the setting for your novels?

I think it chose me! I’ve always wanted to be a writer for as long as I can remember but it wasn’t until Cornwall came into my life that the magic happened…so Cornwall has become my muse.

 

What do you love most about Cornwall?

The landscape, the people, the mystique that seems to wrap itself around you the moment you cross the Tamar…

 

 

Under A Cornish SkyAlthough you were born is Massachusetts you now live in Dubai. What’s it like living over there?

Dubai is wonderful. Energy, sun, sand (one the ground and in the air) and the desert…I love the desert. The emptiness of it is awesome – no other word for it!

 

 

What’s the best thing about writing romance?

The heroes… Seriously, I believe in love and nothing makes me happier than people I care for (including my characters) finding love. I am a hopeless or hopeful romantic…

 

 

Do you have any tips for aspiring authors out there?

Read, read and read some more…then write and listen to your work aloud. I use test to speech software because I’m dyslexic and believe me it’s easier to edit when a computer speaks in a flat voice…a sentence or scene stands only on the words…

 

 

What do you think you’d be doing if you weren’t a writer?

An artist or a teacher…

 

Who are your favourite authors and what kind of books do you enjoy reading?

I have varied taste in books. My comfort read is historical fiction and my favourite writers are Kate Atkinson, Jill Mansell, Julie Cohen and Elizabeth Chadwick.

 

And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re working on at the moment?

I’m working on book five currently called The Returning Tide. It’s dual timeline – World War 2 and current day.  Of course it’s set in Cornwall but also Cape Cod, London and Portland.

 

A huge thank you to Liz and to Lucy at Orion. ♥ 

Don’t forget to pick up your copy of Under a Cornish Sky here.


 photo Liz Fenwick Summer Blog Tour.jpg

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Liz Fenwick

  1. If Liz is writing about the WW II era I am on that book! I have Cornwall on my bucket list, I may never make it in person but I go there through any literature.

    Nice post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

