2016 Reading Resolutions

2015 has been an epic year for books and I have loved every minute of being a book blogger. However, I’m always striving to improve my reading and blogging habits so I have decided to set myself a few goals for 2016. (And no, not buying any more books is not one of them. I need goals that I can actually achieve…)

Read more non-fiction.

Before I started blogging I was quite a big reader of non-fiction. I especially used to like reading autobiographies and discovering about people’s lives. There’s lots of great non-fiction out there, but for some reason I have read a paltry amount during 2015. I hope to change this. I have have a ton of autobiographies sitting on my self that I really want to get round to reading this year and other non-fiction books that have been on my TBR for ages include My Year of Reading Dangerously by Andy Miller, How to Be a Heroine (Or What I’ve Learnt From Reading Too Much by Samantha Ellis and Stuff I’ve Been Reading by Nick Hornby. (Yes, they’re all books about books…)

 

Improve my NetGalley Ratio

It’s a widely acknowledged fact that NetGalley is the best invention since Nutella. I think NetGalley is such a game-changing resource for bloggers and reviewers and I would be completely lost without it. However, saying that I am a fully fledged NetGalley nut-job. I cannot stay away from the place and my fingers have a habit of clicking Request before my brain can even compute what I’m doing. I’m not saying that I am never going to request a book on NetGalley ever again (Like I said earlier, realistic goals…) but I can try extra hard to work on my feedback ratio by giving more attention to some of the gems I am lucky enough to have been approved for. Some of the books on my NetGalley shelf that I am most excited for include Holding Out for a Hero by Victoria Van Tiem, Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christine Barlow and The One in a Million Boy by Monica Wood.

 

Continue to review self-published authors.

I can understand why some bloggers concentrate only on traditionally published books – sometimes it feels as though there just aren’t enough hours in the day to read and review everything that you want to. However, I always try to leave as much space as possible on my list of books I’m going to review for self-published authors. I believe that are so many talented authors out there waiting to be discovered and by agreeing to review their books, blogging gives me a fantastic opportunity to become introduced to books and authors that I wouldn’t have otherwise discovered. I really hope to continue with this into 2016 if I can.

 

Read more!

People often say to me ‘How do you read so much?’ but in all honesty I think I’m quite a slow reader and I don’t get through nearly as many books as I would like to. For 2015 I set myself the Goodreads challenge of reading 100 books and I managed to just about make it! (I’m on 112, oh yeah!!) But some have been novellas – they do still count, right?
For 2016 I’m going to set myself the challenge of 150. Whether I will achieve this or not I have no idea – it depends on so many factors, including what happens to be going on in life. I have had my reading ups and downs in 2015, but I really want to read my bookish heart out for 2016 AND regularly push myself out of my reading comfort zone and try as many new authors as possible.

…Blog more!

I have loved blogging during 2015, but there have been times when I have neglected my little pink corner of the web. I think that’s natural and I wouldn’t want to blog just for the sake of blogging. It also made me realise that blogging should be fun and not feel like a chore so I’m going to put as much of my heart and soul into blogging as life allows. I hope to feature more fun posts, more bookish chatter and plenty of reviews, of course. I also want to bring back my Bookish Reasons to be Happy post…

 

Give audiobooks a try

I have listened to one audio book this year and that was Miss Wrong and Mr Right by Robert Bryndza. It was one of my favourite novels of 2015 and I loved every single minute of listening to it on my ipod. I wasn’t sure whether I would take to audiobooks or not but it was so nice to have a book read to me and to hear the characters come alive in the way that they did. It’s so different to actually reading the book but the plus side is you can multi-task whilst you’re listening (dog-walking, ironing, eating…) I definitely want to try more audiobooks during 2016. Any recommendations?

 

 

 

 

book-love

 

11 thoughts on “2016 Reading Resolutions

  1. I must give audiobooks a try in 2016 too! I’d really like to listen to some autobiography/memoir narrated by the author (apparently Tina Fey does a great job of this with Bossy Pants). The being able to do other things while listening is a big incentive and hopefully a way to squeeze more books in 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard that Bossy Pants is a good one too, Claire. I have been wanting to read that so might start off with that one. You are SO right – any way of squeezing more books in has got to be good… 😉 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Luck!

    Good to see that you have some SMART objectives in there – where you are now and where you want to be this time next year. It’s always good to know where you’ve changed (and when was the last time you checked your Netgalley profile – is it up to date with your Social Media profile details for example? How many page hits, twitter followers etc/)

    My objectives for 2016 go up tomorrow, but meanwhile, here is an update on my objectives for 2015 (and as you can see I didnt meet all of them!)

    https://nordie.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/state-of-the-union-blogger-resolutions-2015-update/

    Liked by 1 person

      • Netgalley have been doing some changes apparently (so the email today told me) so if you havent been in there recently, make sure you do in the next few days/weeks! I’ve already had to change some things around!

        Like

  3. Good goals. I must admit I concentrate on netgalley and I have a ton of other books I bought to read. I think I’ve done well when I reach 40 which I did this year but was 42 last year. I’ve had a couple of books that were very long though! So we’ll done on your reading.
    Booksimo.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Holly – hope you have a lovely, bookish 2016! I was given some audio books/book adaptations for Christmas – not recent releases, but I’m really enjoying revisiting some old favourites (readings of Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle and V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton, as well as BBC radio dramatisations of Agatha Christie’s At Bertram’s Hotel and Dorothy L Sayers’s Gaudy Night).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

