Books I Love! by Claudia Carroll

Books I love! 

By Claudia Carroll

 

Image result for CLAUDIA CARROLLWhat is your favourite book (yours or another’s)?

Absolutely anything by Jane Austen. If you ask me, women’s commercial fiction all began with Jane. To this day, I’m stunned that she wrote Pride and Prejudice at the tender age of twenty one. Can you imagine?!


Who would say is your favourite author / authors?

 

I love all types of fiction, but am a big fan of the wonderful Jojo Moyes….THE ONE PLUS ONE had me welling up, very embarrassingly, on the bus more than once. And don’t get me started on the movie Me Before You  – I was in bits in the cinema. Loved every minute.

 

What book are you currently reading?

 

I’m currently reading THE HOUSE WHERE IT HAPPENED by the wonderful Martina Devlin. It’s about witchcraft and six Irish  women who were hanged for it. Utterly gripping and a perfect spooky read for Autumn. Also, I’ve just finished Clare Mackintosh’s great new thriller I SEE YOU. Fab stuff.

 

What is your favourite book quote?

 

Tough one. Though I love Mr. Bennet’s line from Pride and Prejudice; ‘for what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbours, and laugh at them in our turn?’

 

Do you write based on your own experiences?

 

Sometimes, though not always. Of course, my own experiences colour the prism of any novel, but then the whole joy of fiction is the freedom to do absolutely anything and to go anywhere with a story. Also, if I were to limit writing to just my own experiences, I’d dry up pretty fast!

 

What books have inspired you the most?

 

I’m hugely inspired by a lovely coterie of Irish authors who I’m lucky enough to be pals with. So books by authors such as Marion Keyes, Patricia Scanlan, Sheila O’Flanagan, Sinead Moriarty and Cecelia Ahern I find so completely wonderful.

 

What do you find the most challenging thing about writing?

 

For me, it’s the best job in the world and I feel so privileged that I get to do something I love every day. The tough part though, is trying to keep the writing day as close to a nine to five job as possible, which is easier said than done! Trouble is, when I’m writing from home, there can just be so many other distractions. Even as I’m typing this, I’m looking at a big mound of ironing, just winking at me to be done.

I constantly have to remind myself  that when I’m writing I’m working, just as if I was based in an office or business setting, so I try my best not to take calls, answer emails from pals or surf the net. Believe me though, this took a long, long time to get used to! Soon enough though, my family and friends slowly copped on not to call during the day.

So I suppose here’s a little tip to would be authors who may be reading this; just ignore the door, put the phone on silent, don’t go online and you’ll be amazed at how much you’ll get done. Really.  My mother is by a mile the worst ‘time bandit’ offender, but then she thinks I spend all day every day daydreaming out the window and that books appear on shelves by magic.

Having said all that though, being a full-time author really is the single best job in the world. I’m incredibly lucky and still pinching myself that I can do it full-time now. Imagine a job where you can haul yourself out of bed and bed ‘in work’ five minutes later?  What’s not to love?

 

A huge thank you to Claudia and Louis at Avon.

 

Marriage. It’s a dream come true. Isn’t it?

One wet winter night, two women meet on a bridge. One is Tess Taylor, a personal trainer on the way to meet her boyfriend for date night. The other is Kate King, a celebrity married to a handsome billionaire who just happens to make her cry. In the cold dark evening, there is nothing to link them together but the bridge they shiver on. Little do they know they’ll both hold the key to each other’s future marriage…

All She Ever Wished For tells the story of what happens when your dream is about to come true. And what happens when that dream turns into a bit of a nightmare…

Claudia Carroll brings you a Christmas gift filled with second chances, fateful encounters and a lesson in what true love means.

Paperback  Kindle

2 thoughts on “Books I Love! by Claudia Carroll

Leave a Reply

