Book Review: Creepy Christmas by Jaimie Admans

Creepy Christmas

Creepy Christmas by Jaimie Adams
Release Date: 15th November 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Buy: Paperback | Kindle
Rating:
5 star

wts

Strange things are occurring in the neighbourhood. A mysterious snowfall, one Santa too many, and eyes of coal that watch you wherever you go.

Ten-year-old Kaity is busy trying to get rid of her mum’s creepy new boyfriend and reunite her divorced parents, but her curiosity gets the better of her when she meets the new mall Santa and his enchanting daughter Blizzard. Can Kaity help them save Christmas from being destroyed by Anti-Claus – a pretend Santa who is a permanent member of the naughty list?

It’s Christmas in the village of Chelferry, but this year the snowmen can move, the fairy won’t stay on top of the Christmas tree, and if you listen closely to the musical Christmas cards, you can hear the faint sound of screaming over the Jingle Bells…

mt

Poor ten-year-old Kaity is having a bit of a rough time of things at the moment. Her parents have just split up and her Mum has moved her weird new boyfriend (who she met on the internet – imagine! He could be anybody…) in with her and her younger sister.
Missing her Dad, the one thing Kaity wants for Christmas this year is for her parents to get back together, but things are looking bleak. Or at least they are until she meets the new Santa Claus working in her local shopping mall this year. It’s clear he takes his role very seriously and mysteriously he seems to know rather a lot about Kaity and the predicament that she’s in…
Things are about to get a whole lot weirder when Kaity discovers another Santa Claus at the other end of the mall. As if having two separate Santa’s working in the same building isn’t strange enough, with the arrival of Santa Number Two it looks as though things are set to get rather creepy in the village of Chelferry this Christmas…

Jaimie Admans has been an author I have been wanting to try for ages, so I figured as it’s December I would get stuck in to Creepy Christmas. After reading this funny, magical, heart-warming story all I can do is ask myself why on earth I didn’t read anything by Jaimie sooner…
Creepy Christmas is recommended to be a read for anyone 8 or over, but I can’t see a reason as to why anyone wouldn’t enjoy this lovely, festive, (yet slightly scary!) novel. I am 25 and I loved it (ok, I may still have tendencies to behave like an 8 year old, but regardless…)
Kaity is one clever kid and I thought she was fantastic. Jaimie really brings her to life and your heart will immediately break for her and her sister as their parents split up. I just wanted to give the girl a massive hug and help her with her plan to get her mum & dad back together.
However, Kaity is a tough cookie and extremely smart – she needs no help from me! I loved her determination and her wit; she may only have been ten but she is very savvy indeed and seems wise beyond her years. When the spooky things started happening I would have been hiding under my bed, but not Kaity; she didn’t seem scared in the slightest.
I wasn’t sure how I would find a story narrated by a ten year old but Creepy Christmas completely won me round on that front. I don’t know how Jaimie got into the mind of a little girl experiencing such turmoil at home but she did – and she did it so well.
Creepy Christmas is very, VERY Christmassy and it certainly got me feeling festive. It’s also not called Creepy Christmas for nothing – some of the things that happen freaked me out (those snowmen! Eeek!) But I found this really exciting and it made for a unique and highly addictive storyline. Apart from A Christmas Carol I’ve not really read many stories that balance Christmas with creepy which made Creepy Christmas quite an unusual read for me and certainly something that little bit different.
This is a charming, festive and extremely exciting adventure of a story for all ages. It may be my first Jaimie Admans novel but it certainly won’t be my last…

cr
5PUD

 

Creepy Christmas is currently FREE on Amazon. There are still 3 days in December so get downloading now to enjoy this fabulous, festive (and slightly scary!) adventure…

 

 ata

Jaimie is a 27-year-old English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, drinking tea and watching horror movies. She hates spiders and cheese & onion crisps.

She has been writing for years, but has never before plucked up the courage to tell people. She writes mostly chick-lit and young adult. Kismetology is her first novel and there are plenty more on the way!

Jaimie Admans | Website | Twitter | Facebook |

Leave a comment