Author Interview: Jennifer Joyce

AI

Today on Bookaholic Confessions I’m talking to one of my favourite authors and generally all-round-lovely-lady Jennifer Joyce. Jennifer released her latest novel, The Wedding Date, on the 28th March and it sounds fantastic. (It’s on my ever-growing TBR and I’m almost at it, YAY!) I was thrilled to chat to Jennifer about her new release as she talks favourite books, romance and shares her tips for would-be writers everywhere…

 

Jennifer JoyceHi Jennifer, welcome to Bookaholic Confessions! Thank you so much for participating in this interview. Would you like to start by introducing yourself…?

Thank you having me!

I’m a writer of romantic comedies who lives in Manchester with my husband and our two daughters, plus Jack Russell, Luna and bunnies Cinnamon and Leah.

 

Can you tell us a bit about your new novel, The Wedding Date (released 28th March with Carina UK)?

The Wedding Date is a romantic comedy about smoothie-and-musicals-addict Delilah James as she attempts to find a new bloke to take her oldest friend’s wedding. Her ex – who happens to be the best man – will be there with his new girlfriend so Delilah is determined to prove she’s moved on too.

I LOVE the sound of The Wedding Date and can’t wait to discover if Delilah finds a date in time for her friend’s wedding! How did you come up with the idea for the story?

Delilah popped into my head while I was busy writing my previous book, The Mince Pie Mix-Up, and wouldn’t leave me alone. I didn’t have the time (or headspace) to write her story yet but I thought it would be fun to set Delilah up with her own blog so I could find out more about her in short bursts. It was a lot of fun and when the time came to brainstorm ideas for a new book, Delilah was waiting for her story to be told. Although I’d only managed to write a handful of blog posts, a lot of the ideas for the plot came from them.

 

The Wedding DateIs lead character Delilah completely fictional? Are any of the characters in your novels ever based on anyone in real life or are they entirely fictional?

I never base my characters on real people but I may borrow the odd trait now and then. For example, Ruth in A Beginner’s Guide To Salad is a big fan of cheesy 90s pop and I certainly like a bit of S Club 7 and The Spice Girls myself, though her devotion to heels isn’t me in the slightest!

 

I’m going to ask a really evil question now…Do you have a favourite of all of the books that you have written so far?

That is evil! But I have to admit that I do have a soft spot for A Beginner’s Guide To Salad as it was my very first published book.

 

...Or how about a favourite character?

Again, I have a soft spot for Ruth, my very first published main character. I adore her!

 

What’s the best thing about writing romance?

It’s a lot of fun and you get to be a bit silly and create quirky characters or swoon-worthy men.

 

What advice would you give to any aspiring novelists out there?

To keep going and love what you do. I’ve received my fair share of rejection letters over the years but I couldn’t stop writing stories as it’s a part of who I am, published or not. In the end, my perseverance paid off so don’t give up!

 

Who are your favourite authors and which type of books do you enjoy reading?

I like a good psychological thriller but my favourite genre is romantic comedies because you’re pretty much guaranteed a happy ending with some giggles along the way. My favourite authors from the genre are Kirsty Greenwood and writing duo Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice. Although they only have a couple of books out at the moment, I adored them and can’t wait to read more from them in the future.

I’m also a massive fan of Dorothy Koomson. Her books are beautifully written with the characters and their emotions pouring from the pages.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time besides reading & writing?

I love crafting and will use any excuse to crack open my craft box. I can also usually be found lurking around social media.

 

And finally – can you tell us a bit about what you’re up to at the moment?

 

I’m about half-way through the second draft of my latest book, which tells the story of three friends as they face the challenges of pregnancy, birth and life with a new baby.

 

A huge thank you to Jennifer for answering my questions.

Get your copy of The Wedding Date here.

Jennifer Joyce    | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads |

 

Leave a comment